top of page

Someone cursed me.

Hmm. The last past week has been very annoying. First off, I'm sorry for not writing a post in so long, a lot has happened and this is the first time in a while I've gotten to sit down with some wifi and write. There are so many amazing things about getting to travel. But I also think it's crucial and extremely important for me to share how everything isn't all sunshine, sails and suntans.

For example, I have glasses. I needed to get an eye test so we've been looking around. But it's very hard to get an appointment when you're only in a place for two-three days. By some matter of luck I got an appointment and since we were moving up the coast we got my new glasses and prescription sunglasses sent to a location further up the coast. We were told to expect them to take a week, they were late... Which is cool, without sounding pathetic, many things tend to find a way to mess up when they get to me so I'm used to it. I was jumping off the boat because Jacob said Dad's shoe fell in the water, and my phone slipped out my back pocket. It's one of those moments where everything goes slow. I heard Mum yell something about it and turned round just in time to see my phone go splash. Ahh...

I like to be logical, and yeah it sucked but realistically, I had my phone backed up to my Mac I'm typing on right now. So I didn't really lose any information. All I had lost was the phone, case and sim. For some reason I was extremely chill about it. The information is the thing I care most about. We ordered a sim and that was expected to take 7-20 days to come.

Two days later, the glasses came. But only the glasses. The sunglasses got sent down to a place in Melbourne because they got one of the store digits wrong.

That takes us to today. I've been in a kind of defeated mood, but it's odd though, because it's a really unstoppable feeling, like; 'Hey, everything is going wrong, I'm expecting everything else to go wrong and if it doesn't, then that's just a happy surprise.'

So today when we were out sailing up to Scarborough and the boat grounded. I started laughing because; 'Of course!'

The first thing Dad did was call Scarborough Marina, who suggested we wait it out because they were having an unusually low tide. So we waited and slowly the tide rose, but our real saviour was the Scarborough Bosun who helped us get in the marina. We grounded again, in the marina, and again after that. But he helped us get out and eventually we tied off.

Jacob and I went to go sort out the payment for the marina and the man there was really nice and gave Jacob and I each a free hat.

So in summary, my phone is sitting dead at the bottom of a mooring in Raybay Bay. I'm waiting for my glasses to show up and expecting a call in five minutes [because that's how my luck goes] from Raybay Bay telling me the sim card has come. Lesson learned, postage, and anything you need to get delivered is one of the most annoying things ever when you're constantly moving.

Grrr.


bottom of page