top of page

My issue with London

The last rant I had was about not always needing to buy the latest phone/laptop/whatever. And I appreciate that nobody got offended by what I had to say. That's not my intent.

I have a problem with London as a tourist. Everybody talks about London as a tourist destination spot. If you go to London, people ask if you've seen Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, the London Eye or the River Thames, because for some reason, they are the badges to bring up to make you look well traveled.

London represents England as a tourist spot.

For me, I like to visit the best places when traveling, and honestly, the tourist destinations travellers 'ooh' and 'ahh' about, aren't good. They're alright but there are way better places to actually see.

For me, I personally worry about people coming to Australia, hearing people go on about how great the Sydney Opera house is, Bondi Beach, or even Canberra. It makes me pretty worried, because those places aren't that great.

The mentality for me is, if everybody goes on about how wonderful Canberra is, or what a representative of Australia Sydney Opera House is or how Bondi Beach is the greatest beach in Australia. It worries me that tourists would show up and be like; 'All this hype, is that it?'

Personally I know I did that when I saw Bondi, it is a pretty tiny beach, and I like to think I'm a good judge of beaches now, considering I've lived on a boat this year. There are way better beaches out there.

It's the same thing with England. If you want to see a place, don't see a city, with a few changes, they're pretty much the same all around the world. I don't hate London, I just think the things suggested for tourism aren't good enough to represent a whole country.

I was speaking with someone recently and we both agreed that London has fantastic museums.

I love the British Museum. We were there a whole day and we didn't even see half of it. They have Cleopatra, and the Rosetta Stone for starters. It is hands down, my favourite Museum.

But if you explore outside of London and go further North, it becomes completely it's own thing.

I've been to York a few times now, and I love how homey it feels, for a load of buildings, it's quite beautiful. The people are very friendly as well. The York Dungeons are pretty awesome to go to.

So please, if you're traveling somewhere, ask somebody who actually lives in that place, or someone who's seen more than the touristy things about what they'd recommend doing. You're gonna have way more unique stories to tell.


bottom of page