top of page

Guests, Ahoy!

Two of Dad's friends are coming over to stay with us for a week or so. So I thought I'd talk about what we do in preparation for guests.

I have a load of stuff. I recently bought a ukulele which you can see if you scroll down to the photo collage on the home page. I also have a guitar and a keyboard. And those are just my instruments! So when people come I'd like to say I play tetris and pack all my things away neatly. But no, most of it involves me squeeeeezing pillows, blankets, various tech, books and socks into cupboards and under my floor [seriously].

So after I finally get my breath back from squeezing a body pillow, two regular pillows, a box full of tech, a blanket, a box full of socks and undies, and a ukulele into a cupboard the size of a mini fridge which already holds all my clothes I finish packing my bag because Mum and I get to stay in a motel! Woo aircon!

After that I just like to clean my floor from all the random grains of sand that appear there for some reason. I used to also take down all three of my LED lights as well as my photos, pictures and dream catcher. But then I figured that those things are what make my room my room.

Talking to Mum, Dad and Jacob, it seems I have a very weird opinion on rooms. I feel that a room, especially a bedroom, is a physical representation of someones mind. Everything that's usually there is there because they represent the person in some way. I mean, if you walk into my bedroom when I'm staying there, you can find out all different things about me; I have loads of books on the paranormal and ghosts? I'm interested in horror and I like to read. Then there's the more obvious stuff, like a photo of Twenty One Pilots, me skydiving, me quad biking and a poster of Fallout 4. Not to mention all the Harry Potter stuff floating around my room. So yeah. That was a bit of a rant, it's just interesting to me how you can learn so much about a person based on a room.

Okay Natalie, back to the topic.

So then after I've finished packing, then comes the ETERNAL STRUGGLE. If by chance, you haven't seen Jacob's or my bed, then let me explain how little the gap is between the ceiling and the bed. Mum and I just gaged it and it's about 21 inches. So then I need to take off the bed cover and set up a sleeping bag and pillows. It's not so bad now, I find it's like a skill, I used to always hit my head on the ceiling when doing anything, but now it doesn't happen at all [Now that I said that, it's gonna start happening again, isn't it?]. I won't lie, putting bedding on, especially the mattress protector still leaves me in a angry sweaty mess. Especially when I have to wiggle it under my guitar case that's bungee corded to the wall AND somehow get it to fit under all the weird edges of the mattress., but hey, at least I don't hit my head anymore.

Then there's the walk to the motel, which isn't so bad because; FRESH AIR! FREEDOM!

Then when we get to the motel; FREE WIFI! BLOG POSTS!

So guess what I've been writing since we got here?

Congratulations for reading to the end of this longgg post. I'd just like to say that my intention wasn't for this to come across as passive aggressive. The opposite actually, I like doing stuff, especially since I have no 'in-person' friends, school or usual to-do list. I hope that you found this interesting, and I hope you have a wonderful day/night wherever you are in the world!

P.S. I'm the lucky one, Jacob gets to sleep on the couch.


bottom of page