top of page

Hello World!

I know. It wasn't that long ago when I decided to change this blog into a more diverse range of travel. Yes. I'm already somewhere different. Where am I then? Well if you happen to be floating around Dubai...

I'm not there, sorry. I'm in England! Dun dun dahhh!

We started traveling on the tenth.. I think..? We had a stop over in Hong Kong as well. So there is a lot to catch up on. For now. I'll stick to writing a post about Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Lights

So we flew from Queensland to Hong Kong on a flight that took about eight hours. The thing is, I actually like flights. But I realised there's a point where a long flight is just too long. I think it becomes too long when you've seen all the inflight entertainment they show on the screens on the back of the chairs. Not to mention, when your legs fall asleep and any amount of stretching them doesn't wake them up.

Besides that, the flight was alright, we flew with Cathy Pacific on both flights; Aus to Hong Kong, and on Hong Kong to England.

Airplane Sunrise

We were all pretty exhausted after the flight. So we just wanted to get to the hotel. But we couldn't check in until later in the afternoon. We mostly traveled on trains. So from the airport we had to take the train to q station where we could buy unlimited day tickets. I was actually pretty amazed to note that it was very easy to understand signs and such in Hong Kong. Cantonese is the most common language spoken, but I didn't really expect English to be pretty much equally spoken.

So we took the train to where we would be staying and wandered around for a bit. We were all pretty tired, but we walked around and checked out a little corner store and picked up some interesting foods.

Hong Kong Foods

There was a front entrance to the hotel, and a back entrance with tables. So we kinda took a nap while waiting to get in. The benefit to this was we could see the city at night.

Hong Kong has to be my favourite city. Even though I've only been there for three days.

There were many Christmas lights, trees, music and decorations all around. I've never seen anywhere in Australia that decorated, let alone a city.

Hong Kong Shopping Centre

During the second day, we went to a Thai restaurant. Before our meal came, we were given complimentary chicken soup. Everything came out rather quick as well. We spent the day just wandering around. At night we went to Sha Tsui Pier for the Symphony of Lights. Basically, every night at 8.00pm there's a light show, and by downloading the app, you can listen to music that matches with the lights.

Even without the show on, there was already a light festival going on there. Which just made the place a whole lot more colourful.

Hong Kong Christmas Lights

As far as cities go, Hong Kong was very clean and quiet, you didn't really get rowdy drunks or whatever there. I also found that somehow the city had a close feeling. At dusk, you'd catch groups of friends dotted around on cardboard mats, eating, drinking, playing music and laughing. I think it's a nice concept, as opposed to dressing up for fancy dinner dates. So yeah. I plan on writing further posts to catch you up. Thanks for reading!


bottom of page